In this article
Every email address or SMS number imported into WordFly has a Subscriber Profile where data is stored and can be referenced. Subscriber Profiles store information about lists, subscriber data, campaigns and email responses for each unique subscriber. In this article we will cover all the details behind the subscriber’s sending status.
About the sending status
On the Subscriber Profile landing you can see right away whether a subscriber is receiving your emails or not. To the left of the subscriber’s address you will see a status icon.
This subscriber is receiving emails.
This subscriber probably is not receiving emails because they are being filtered out when imported. The subscriber remains filtered out unless you specifically say to override the issue on a list-by-list basis or at the subscriber level.
This subscriber is not receiving emails. The subscriber is suppressed from the list when any campaign is sent.
What makes up the subscriber’s status?
Click on the email or SMS number to see more information about the subscribers sending status. Here you’ll see two components that make up the overall subscriber sending status: Status and Flagged Events.
There are two main statuses: OK to Contact and Do Not Contact. This status is set manually by your organization and allows you to have control over whether a subscriber should receive emails or not. Click on the status icon and you will have the option to change the status to OK to Contact or Do Not Contact.
OK to Contact
All addresses in WordFly start off as OK to Contact. The address will continue to be OK until someone in your organization clicks the Do Not Contact option.
If a subscriber clicks the Unsubscribe link in an email, or if we send a campaign to the address and it returns to us as a Hard Bounce, the address will still be OK to Contact. However, it will show an Alert icon instead of a Check icon. Leaving it as OK to Contact allows the subscriber the chance to resubscribe in the future. It also provides your organization with the option to override events for transactional emails as needed.
Do Not Contact
This can only be set manually by an organization, e.g., a subscriber calls box office to opt-out. The address will continue to be Do Not Contact until someone in your organization manually clicks the OK to Contact option.
Changing a subscriber’s status to Do Not Contact is a way of blocklisting that address in WordFly. This does not interact with flagged events (unsubscribes, hard bounces or abuse complaints), it’s only an internal control method. WordFly will suppress any addresses with Do Not Contact when the Campaign sends.
There are three events initiated by subscribers that tell WordFly whether we should send email to them or not. You may see one or more of them if there is an alert icon:
|Hard Bounce||We send a campaign to the address and it returns to us as undeliverable because the domain or email address is not valid. This event can be overridden on a list-by-list basis or for all campaigns.|
|Opt-Out||The subscriber clicks the Unsubscribe link in an email. This event can be overridden on a list-by-list basis or for all campaigns.|
|Abuse Complaint||The subscriber clicks This is Spam in their email client. This event cannot be overridden. Learn more.
Resubscribing a subscriber to your list
To resubscribe someone to your list globally from the Subscriber Profile
1. Click on the subscriber's address
2. Click Clear
The opt-out is immediately removed from the record globally.
To resubscribe someone to a specific list from the Subscriber Profile
1. Click on the Lists page
2. Change the Status filter to Not Subscribed
3. Find the list the address has been filtered out as a Subscriber Import Issue
4. Click on the list name
5. Select Override issue for this list
The unsubscribe or hard bounce will be removed from the subscriber's record for this list only.
Forget this subscriber (Right to be Forgotten)
GDPR is an EU data protection law that is in effect as of May 25, 2018. The law has strict data protection regulations around personal data for individuals residing in the EU. Under the law, a subscriber has the Right to be Forgotten. A subscriber can request at any time to have their personal information forgotten.
To forget a subscriber from the Subscriber Profile
1. Click on the subscriber's address
2. Click Forget this Subscriber
This action will do the following:
- Permanently deletes all data associated with a subscriber.
- The subscriber will be removed from lists, but the List Summary counts will not update or show that the subscriber was removed.
A full history of your subscriber’s flagged events can be reviewed on their Subscriber Profile under the Activity page. You can see each unsubscribe, abuse complaint, or hard bounce that has been logged. When an event has an 'X' next to it this indicates the event has been cleared or overridden.
To view flagged events history
1. Click on the Activity page
2. Change the Event filter to a specific flagged event, e.g., Opt-Out
The filter will update and will show all the Opt-Outs on record for the subscriber, including cleared events and overrides.
- Subscriber Profiles: Introduction
- Subscriber Profiles: Sending status
- Subscriber Profiles: Profile landing page
- Subscriber Profiles: Activity page
- Subscriber Profiles: Lists page